Brexit : Une occasion pour le Canada
For Print Only Logo
Aperçus des marchés

Brexit : Une occasion pour le Canada

Auteur : 

Le 13 juin 2018

Les préparatifs du Brexit : pas seulement un défi pour la Grande-Bretagne

À titre de chef d’entreprise canadien, j’ai récemment eu la chance de faire partie d’un panel axé sur les préparatifs du Brexit (Preparing for Brexit Not Just a British Challenge). Les échanges ont porté sur le domaine des services financiers du Royaume-Uni et sur une nouvelle entente commerciale.

Compte tenu de mon expérience, la discussion que j’ai trouvé la plus intéressante concernait l’occasion pour le Canada de se positionner de façon à réussir dans le cadre de cette nouvelle réalité mondiale.

En ce qui concerne le Brexit et le Royaume-Uni, je crois que nous sommes en bonne position. Les relations politiques et économiques qui existent depuis longtemps entre les deux nations, et qui sont fructueuses de part et d’autre, constituent pour notre pays un avantage.

Même s’il est presque certain que Londres demeurera l’un des centres financiers les plus importants du monde, le vote en faveur du Brexit ouvrira peut-être la porte aux entreprises étrangères désireuses de s’inscrire sur les marchés publics au Canada.

Par exemple, si le Royaume-Uni devait être considéré comme un pays tiers, du point de vue de l’Union européenne, sans qu’aucune équivalence de réglementation ne soit établie, des restrictions rigoureuses pourraient être imposées aux entreprises de l’Union européenne qui exerceraient des activités commerciales avec les sociétés du Royaume-Uni.

Dans de telles conditions, les banques de calibre mondial pourraient déplacer certains de leurs volets d’activités à l’extérieur du Royaume-Uni – ce qui pourrait présenter une occasion pour le Canada.

La stabilité constitue notre meilleur argument de vente auprès des sociétés de services financiers du monde entier. Le vote en faveur du Brexit et l’agitation politique font ressortir le fait que le Canada est un pays constant et sécuritaire qui se prête bien à l’investissement.

Si l’on considère aussi son milieu des affaires concurrentiel, son accès privilégié aux États-Unis, son système financier stable et les multiples accords de libre-échange dont il bénéficie, le Canada s’avère idéal pour accueillir les sièges sociaux d’entreprises mondiales.

Les sociétés qui choisiront de s’installer au Canada constateront que les directives qui existent dans le secteur des services financiers entre le Canada et l’Union européenne, sont clémentes en matière de commerce et d’accès au marché, compte tenu de l’engagement de tous les membres à l’égard de l’Accord général sur le commerce des services (GATS), dont les dispositions sont semblables à celles de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG ou CETA).

Ainsi, il est fort probable que les activités commerciales et les investissements augmenteront à long terme entre le Canada et l’Union européenne dans le domaine des services financiers, sous l’effet d’une intégration accrue de leurs marchés intérieurs.

Si les négociations entourant le Brexit se prolongent, je m’attendrai à ce que le phénomène s’accélère, à mesure que les sociétés de services financiers du Royaume-Uni chercheront de nouveaux territoires.

Les opinions exprimées dans cet article sont celles de l’auteur et ne représentent pas nécessairement le point de vue d’AGF, de ses filiales et de toute autre société apparentée ou affiliée, et ne peuvent être associées à aucun fonds ni à aucune stratégie d’investissement.

Au sujet de La Société de Gestion AGF Limitée

Fondée en 1957, La Société de Gestion AGF Limitée (AGF) est une société indépendante de gestion de placements diversifiés à l’échelle mondiale. AGF apporte de la discipline en offrant l’excellence en matière de gestion de placements par l’entremise de ses volets axés sur des activités fondamentales et quantitatives de même que sur des actifs non traditionnels et des avoirs de particuliers bien nantis, afin de procurer une expérience exceptionnelle à la clientèle. La gamme de solutions d’investissement d’AGF s’étend à l’échelle mondiale à une vaste clientèle, depuis les conseillers financiers jusqu’aux investisseurs particuliers et aux investisseurs institutionnels comprenant des caisses de retraite, des programmes d’entreprise, des fonds souverains, des fonds de dotation et des fondations.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter AGF.com.

Ⓒ 2018 La Société de Gestion AGF Limitée. Tous droits réservés.

D'autres articles semblables.

Les résultats de l’enquête de 2018 auprès des investisseurs : révélateurs pour les organismes de réglementation

Les résultats de l’enquête de 2018 auprès des investisseurs : révélateurs pour les organismes de réglementation

Canadian investors continue to use their voice during a time of debate and consultation within our industry, expressing a clear appreciation for the value of advice and the current compensation models available to them. The Gandalf Group recently released the results of its 2018 Investor Survey, commissioned by AGF.

Tout lire
Situation du commerce en Amérique du Nord après l’AEUMC

Situation du commerce en Amérique du Nord après l’AEUMC

L’accalmie est bienvenue, mais il ne faut pas négliger les barrières non tarifaires La semaine…

Tout lire
Le sondage de l’IFIC prête une voix aux investisseurs canadiens

Le sondage de l’IFIC prête une voix aux investisseurs canadiens

L’Institut des fonds d’investissement du Canada (IFIC) et la société Pollara Strategic Insights ont récemment…

Tout lire

Brexit an Opportunity for Canada – Part Two
For Print Only Logo
Insights and Market Perspectives

Brexit an Opportunity for Canada – Part Two

Author: Blake C. Goldring

June 13, 2018

Preparing for Brexit Not Just a British Challenge

As a Canadian business leader, I recently had the opportunity to participate in a “Preparing for Brexit Not Just a British Challenge” panel with the Right Honourable Lord Mayor of the City of London and the Honourable Michael H. Wilson, Chairman of Barclays Canada.

The conversations covered the UK financial services industry and a new trade agreement.

Given my background, the discussion that I found most interesting was about the opportunity for Canada to position itself for success in this new global reality.

When it comes to Brexit and our relationship with the UK, I believe we are starting from a position of strength. We have an advantage given a long-standing political and economic relationship that benefits both countries.

While London will almost certainly remain one of the world’s most important financial centres, the Brexit vote may open the door to foreign firms to list on exchanges in Canada.

For example, in a scenario that sees the UK move to a third country status with the EU without any regulatory equivalence, severe restrictions could be placed on the EU-related business that can be transacted by UK-based firms.

In this environment global banks could potentially relocate some of their operations out of the UK – and this may provide an opportunity for Canada.

Our major selling point to global financial services companies is stability. The Brexit vote and political unrest in the U.S. make Canada stand out as a safe, stable place to invest.

Combined with a competitive business environment, privileged access to the U.S., a stable financial system and a network of free trade agreements Canada stands out as an ideal location for global headquarters.

Should companies decide to move operations to Canada they will find that existing barriers to trade and market access between Canada and the EU in the financial services sector are not high to begin with, due to the parties’ commitments under GATS, whose provisions are similar to those found in CETA.

As a result, increased trade and investment in financial services between Canada and the EU is more likely to occur over the longer run as a result of greater domestic market integration.

I expect this could be accelerated if Brexit negotiations are protracted and UK-based financial services firms seek to locate in other jurisdictions.

The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the opinions of AGF, its subsidiaries or any of its affiliated companies, funds or investment strategies.

About AGF Management Limited

Founded in 1957, AGF Management Limited (AGF) is an independent and globally diverse asset management firm. AGF brings a disciplined approach to delivering excellence in investment management through its fundamental, quantitative, alternative and high-net-worth businesses focused on providing an exceptional client experience. AGF’s suite of investment solutions extends globally to a wide range of clients, from financial advisors and individual investors to institutional investors including pension plans, corporate plans, sovereign wealth funds and endowments and foundations.

For further information, please visit AGF.com.

© 2018 AGF Management Limited. All rights reserved.

More articles like this.

2018 Investor Survey Results: A Revelation for Regulators

2018 Investor Survey Results: A Revelation for Regulators

Canadian investors continue to use their voice during a time of debate and consultation within our industry, expressing a clear appreciation for the value of advice and the current compensation models available to them. The Gandalf Group recently released the results of its 2018 Investor Survey, commissioned by AGF.

Read More
Post-USMCA Business Conditions in North America

Post-USMCA Business Conditions in North America

Reaching the elusive USMCA agreement allows our respective governments, regulatory authorities and business communities to turn their collective attention to the critical task of improving conditions to promote economic growth, job creation and business investment. And while reduced uncertainty is a great positive, important non-tariff barriers – namely, regulation and taxation – must be addressed, while also keeping a close eye on the implications of interest rate hikes.

Read More
IFIC Survey Gives Voice to Canadian Investors

IFIC Survey Gives Voice to Canadian Investors

AGF has always been a strong advocate for the value of financial advice, and these findings from Pollara Strategic Insights support previous research that demonstrates: Canadians who work with an advisor build more savings over time and are better positioned to meet their long-term investing goals. In fact, more than three-quarters (78%) of the surveyed investors specifically reported having better saving and investment habits because of their advisors.

Read More